Sunday, September 02, 2007

Evolution - According to Douglas Adams

I've come across many descriptions of evolution, but rarely one as apt as the this one:

The history of every major galactic civilization tends to pass through three distinct and recognizable phases, those of Survival, Enquiry, and Sophistication, otherwise known as How, Why, and Where phases.

For instance the first phase is characterized by the question How can we eat?, the second by the question Why do we eat?, and the third by the question Where shall we have lunch ?

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Douglas Adams

1 comment:

  1. Faraz Khalid3:38 PM

    I think human species has already crossed the three phases of evolution, i.e. Survival, Enquiry and Sophistication to reach the fourth phase, i.e. Neurosis... also defined as "what".. as in "what's cooking?"...